GALAXY # Metropolis # Description
The Idea was born when I experimentated with a guitar riff which I placed on a Hammond-B3-Theme. The bass is dancing around it and the simple but heavy drumming is holding the pieces together. The result is a sound which reminds of Deep Purple. The vocal and the choir part was easy to be done after that just by following my intuition. While the guitar is rather influenced by Hendrix, the rhythm of the solo reminds of Police. The furious and bombastic ending is typical for the early Yes. A colourful bunch of sounds of the 70ties. You may like it sometimes.

The decision to pick up the Metropolis-metapher was also affected by the fact that this motion picture came back as a restored version and is now shown in the cinemas again.

According to the music I have painted a picture on which an industrial roboter is shown.

There are some videos on Youtube. Please search for " Christian Kleinfeld "

The Metropolis movie is about the world of labour. The industrial revolution and its impacts to the society. Fritz Lang was composing a very unique science fiction drama in which he reflects the problems of his era. It reminds of greek tragedies and operas of Richard Wagner. His pictures belonged to the avantgarde of his time. Nevertheless the film had bad critics in the papers mainly because of its very kitschy content. But today we experience that most of any SF-directors were following the Metropolis-model.

Today, at the beginning of the second industrial revolution, the motion picture is becoming a new relevance. While the workers in the picture are working very hard under the ground, today there is not enough work for everybody because the machines are doing it for us. And even more then this: intelligent technologies will also execute sophisticated, demanding and creative jobs for us. The society of the future will be a society without work. The resulting necessity for politcal and paradigm change is still on the agenda, today as well as it was in 1927.

Technical Specifications Display in German Back to Galaxy Back to Index

GALAXY # Metropolis # Erklärungstext
Die Idee zu dem Stück kam mir als ich, aus Freude am Experimentieren, ein bestimmtes Gitarren-Riff über ein Hammond-B3-Motiv legen wollte. Der Bass tänzelt verhalten drumherum und ein sehr einfaches aber entsprechend wuchtiges Schlagzeug (Charlie Watts) hält das Ganze zusammen. Es entsteht dadurch ein "Deep-Purple-ähnlicher" Sound. Der Textteil und der Chor hat sich dann fast von selbst ergeben. Ich habe mich deshalb für das Metropolis-Thema entschieden, weil jetzt auch gerade der restaurierte Film in den Kinos zu sehen ist. Die Gitarre ist zwar irgendwie im Hendrix-Stil gehalten aber die rhythmische Akzentuierung könnte auch von Police stammen. Der furiose Schluss ist ein bischen an frühe, bombastische Stücke von Yes angelehnt. Ein bunter Mix aus Stilen der 70er Jahre. Muss auch mal sein.

Zu dem Musikstück gibt es auch ein Gemälde auf dem ein Industrie-Roboter zu sehen ist.

Es gibt auch Videos auf Youtube. Suchen Sie dort einfach nach " Christian Kleinfeld "

Thematisch geht es in Metropolis um die Welt der Arbeit. Die Industrielle Revolution und ihre Auswirkungen. Fritz Lang greift die Probleme seiner Zeit auf, macht daraus ein Sience-Fiction-Drama, dass an griechische Tragödien oder Wagner-Inzenierungen erinnert. Seine Bilder gehören zur künstlerischen Avantgarde seiner Zeit. Trotzdem wurde der Film wegen seines ausgesprochen kitschigen Inhalts von den Medien verrissen. Heute stellen wir fest, dass sich fast alle späteren SF-Regisseure irgendwie doch an Metropolis orientiert haben.

Heute, mit Beginn der zweiten industriellen Revolution, bekommt der Film eine neue Bedeutung. Während bei Fritz Lang die Arbeiter unter Tage hart arbeiten müssen, ist es heute eher so, dass die Maschinen die Menschen überflüssig machen. Mehr noch: intelligente Technologien werden auch anspruchsvolle, kreative und intuitive Tätigkeiten für uns ausführen können. Die Gesellschaft der Zukunft ist eine Gesellschaft ohne Arbeit. Die daraus resultierende Notwendikeit zum politischen Wandel und zum Paradigmen-Wechsel ergibt sich heute jedoch genauso wie 1927.

Technische Informatonen Display in English Back to Galaxy Back to Index